ACS Doha International School

  • ACS Doha International School, PO Box 200568, Al Oyoun Street, Al Gharafa, Doha, Qatar
  • Switchboard: +974 4000 9797 |

Page in this Section

The IB Diploma Programme continues to set the global standard in High School education.

Reassuringly independent and rigorous, the IBDP is a premium entrance qualification to universities around the world, recognised for its academic integrity, range, and the high level of study skills each student must develop to succeed. 

Our first Grade 12 class will graduate in May 2016.

ACS students & teachers discus the IB Diploma advantage

Programme requirements & model

The IBDP has six groups of subjects
  1. Studies in Language and Literature
  2. Language Acquisition
  3. Individuals and Societies
  4. Experimental Sciences
  5. Mathematics
  6. The Arts/Electives

Students study six courses – usually three at Higher Level (HL) and three at Standard Level (SL). Students must choose one subject from each of groups 1 to 5 – ensuring breadth of experience in languages, social studies, sciences and mathematics.

The sixth subject may be an arts subject chosen from group 6, or the student may choose another subject from groups 1 to 4.

Knowledge depth is ensured by requiring three or four subjects at Higher Level.


University Recognition

The IB Diploma was developed to establish an internationally acceptable university entrance qualification for the student populations in international schools. The IB's reputation for rigorous assessment has given IB Diploma holders access to leading universities around the world.

Every university in the UK accepts the IB Diploma as an entry qualification. In the US and Canada, IB Diplomas and Certificates (Higher Level) are recognized, and universities confer credit or advanced placement of up to one year for them.

IB Diploma Grades & Assessment

Each examined subject is graded on a scale of 1 (minimum) to 7 (maximum). The award of the IB Diploma requires a minimum total score of 24, based on the principle that a grade 4 represents a passing level in each of the six subjects. Excellent performance in the six subjects results in a grade 7 for each, or a total score of 42 points. Students can earn an additional 3 points for superior work on the Extended Essay and Theory Of Knowledge.

Theory of Knowledge (TOK)

This course is focused on developing interdisciplinary and critical-thinking skills. TOK explores the interdisciplinary nature among subject disciplines and encourages critical reflection and analysis.

Extended Essay

  • Students must select, research, and write an in-depth, independent research work of 4000 words in one of their six subjects areas. The Extended Essay requirement offers IB Diploma candidates the opportunity to become familiar with the independent research and writing skills expected at university.

In addition

Creativity, Action, Service (CAS)

  • All IB Diploma students get involved in Creativity, Action, Service (CAS) work. CAS is a fundamental part of the Diploma experience (and one that sets it apart), helping students to grasp the importance of extracurricular activities as an integral part of life, and as a healthy counterbalance to the world of pure scholarship and study. These initiatives and activities are a key part of our student’s education, and include:
    • Local and global community outreach projects
    • Charity drives
    • Model United Nations
    • Sports
    • And many, many more.

IB courses at ACS Doha

Group 1 - Studies in Language and Literature A
Group 2 - Language Acquisition B
English Language/Literature (SL/HL)
Spanish Language / Literature (SL/HL)

French B / Ab Initio (SL/HL)
Spanish B / Ab Initio (SL/HL)
Arabic B /Ab Initio (SL/HL)

Group 3 - Individuals and Societies
Group 4 - Experimental Sciences

Geography (SL/HL)
History (SL/HL)
Psychology (SL/HL)
Business and Management (SL/HL)

Biology (SL/HL)
Physics (SL/HL)
Chemistry (SL/HL)

Group 5 - Maths & Computer Science
Group 6 - The Arts / Electives

Mathematics (SL/HL)
Mathematics Studies (SL)

Visual Art (SL/HL)​

To earn an IB Diploma, students are required to study six subjects (at least three at Higher Level, and three at Standard Level)

HL = Higher Level

SL = Standard Level

Note: The school reserves the right to add or delete courses according to student demand and staff availability.

Page in this Section

Main Menu